You Don’t Need To Forgive Someone Who Is Not Sorry–Foregiveness Is For Your “Self”

Hope and Healing Haven

Hi everyone.  I have been wanting to share my song “Help Me to Forgive” for a while, but I wanted to explain what I mean by forgiveness because it can be such a confusing and guilt-inducing concept.  For myself, forgiving my mother was something I kept trying to do because I thought it was the right thing to do.

As highly sensitive people (HSPs), we want so badly to be compassionate, fair, and kind.  I kept forgiving my mother and forgetting the past. I pretended like everything was going to be okay if I just forgave her and moved on but I continued to let her walk all over me. I ignored my feelings and kept telling myself I was forgiving and that was the right thing to do.  For me, it was the wrong thing to do and the pattern continued until I felt so hurt one day by her blatant disrespect for…

View original post 985 more words

Leave a Reply

